Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Minister, Councillors and Committees


Hon Albert Paul Jacob MLA

Minister for Heritage; Environment. 

For Minister Jacob's media statements, click here.

Heritage Council

The Heritage Council has nine members including a chairperson, four community representatives and representatives of local government, professional associations, property owners, representatives from the National Trust of Australia (WA). People appointed to these positions are professionals with relevant expertise.

Chairperson & Members

Marion Fulker, Chair
Philip Griffiths, Heritage Professions representative
Nerida Moredoundt, Community representative
Lloyd Clark, Community representative
Noel Robertson, Community representative
David Heaver, Community representative
Anne Arnold, Owners’ interests representative
Professor John Stephens, National Trust of Australia (WA) nominee
Dr Brad Pettitt, local government representative

The Register Committee and the Development Committee consist of heritage and community representatives who meet frequently to assist the heritage Council in its decision-making.

These, although are not formal members of the Heritage Council, play an important role in heritage operations.

Register Committee 

The Register Committee determines the priority of assessment for all places nominated to the State Register; reviews assessment documentation of places under consideration; and makes recommendations to the Minister for Heritage of places deemed to have State level cultural heritage significance.

Phillip Griffiths (Chair)
Prof. John Stephens
Nerida Moredoundt
Dr Brad Pettitt
Fiona Bush
Peter Woodward
Sue Graham-Taylor

Development Committee

Proposed major changes to places listed in the State Register require formal consideration and advice by the Heritage Council. The Development Committee provides this advice for large-scale or complex projects, except when a project is particularly sensitive in which case it is dealt with by the full Council.

Anne Arnold (Chair)
David Heaver
Lloyd Clark
Noel Robertson
Jennifer Marschner
Tony Ednie- Brown
Gerald Major
Chris Antill

The 2014 meeting dates for the Heritage Council, Register Committee and the Development Committee are as follows: 

Heritage Council
Register  Committee
Development Committee
No meeting January No meeting January 28 January
14 February 28 February 25 February
14 March 28 March  25 March 
11 April 17 April 22 April
09 May  30 May 27 May
13 June  27 June 24 June
11 July 25 July 22 July 
08 August 29 August 26 August
12 September 26 September 23 September
10 October 31 October 28 October
14 November 28 November 25 November
12 December 12 December 16 December
inHerit - an online portal for heritage listings

Contact Us

Our Office hours are from Monday to Friday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.

View Larger Map

Heritage is integral to the vibrant life and prosperity of Western Australia.
General Enquiries

Level 2, 491 Wellington Street, Perth WA 6000

PO Box 7479
Cloisters Square PO WA 6850

T: (08) 6552 4000
Freecall (regional): 1800 52 4000
F: (08) 6552 4001

Follow Us